North Carolina Trucking Association

Congratulations 2017 Truck Driving Championship Winners

The 2017 Truck Driving Championship was held on May 19-20, 2017 in Smithfield, NC. Over 170 drivers from across the state competed for the top spot and a chance to go on to compete in the American Trucking Associations' 2017 National Truck and Step Van Driving Championships in Orlando, Florida. Drivers had to complete a written test, pre-trip inspection and a road course to place in each class.

The NC Truck Driving Championship offers drivers the opportunity to show off their skills and also gives them the opportunity to represent their company and network with other drivers on the road. This event is a great time for family and friends to get together and support the drivers. Here, company lines disappear and together everyone celebrates the trucking industry at its best.

2017 Truck Driving Championship Winners

Grand Champion 

David Rohman, FedEx Express

PreTrip Winner 

Matthew Hall, FedEx Freight

Rookie of the Year 

Derek Macaulay, Walmart Transportation


First Place - David Rohman, FedEx Express

Second Place - John Dyson, FedEx Freight

Third Place - Christopher Serviss, Walmart Transportation


First Place - Gerald Cannan, UPS

Second Place - Timothy Whitley, Old Dominion Freight Line

Third Place - Jackie Smith, FedEx Express


First Place - Brian Akins, Old Dominion Freight Line

Second Place - Tony Talley, Old Dominion Freight Line

Third Place - Randy Davis, Harris Teeter

5-Axle Sleeper

First Place - Matthew Hall, FedEx Freight

Second Place - Jimmy Whitley, FedEx Ground

Third Place - Will Smith, William E Smith Trucking Inc


First Place - Brian Walker, UPS

Second Place - William Goodson, FedEx Freight

Third Place - James Honeycutt, Smithfield Hog Production

Straight Truck

First Place - David Young, FedEx Freight

Second Place - Nico Barham, Smithfield Hog Production

Third Place - Harold Leonard, FedEx Ground

Tank Truck

First Place - Derek Macaulay, Walmart Transportation

Second Place - Allen McNeely, ABF Freight System

Third Place - Timothy Danehy, CLI Transport


First Place - Steve Barbour, XPO Logistics

Second Place - James Helbert, UPS

Third Place - Dave Pack, YRC Worldwide

Step Van

First Place - Michael Bills, FedEx Express

Second Place - Augustus Kern, FedEx Express

Third Place - Robert Jarrell, FedEx Ground

Thank you to our 2017 Truck Driving Championship Sponsors!

Driver Mug Sponsor

G & S Road Service, Inc.

Class Sponsors

5-Axle Sleeper Berth - Cummins Atlantic, LLC 

5-Axle - National Interstate Insurance Co.

Tank Trucks - Carolina Tank Lines, Inc.

Trophy Sponsor

FedEx Ground

Driver Breakfast Sponsor

Anderson Uniform Company

Judges Lunch Sponsor

Eagle Transport Corporation

Bronze Sponsors

Best Cartage Inc, Black's Tire & Auto Service, Electronic Funds Source LLC, Ezzell Trucking Inc, FedEx Freight, Innovative Driver Services, Old Dominion Freight Line, Peoplenet - USA, Salem Leasing Corporation, Waccamaw Transport Company,  Volvo Trucks North America

59 photo(s) Updated on: 30 May 2017

An Affiliate of the
American Trucking Associations 

North Carolina Trucking Association
4000 Westchase Blvd.
Ste. 210
Raleigh, NC 27607

Telephone:  (919) 834-0387

FAX: (919) 834-3926

Connect with us on Social Media:

                                                                                                                                                              Copyright© 2014 North Carolina Trucking Association.
                                                                                                                         All All Rights Reserved. No part of this site may be reproduced without permission

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software